2009 Southern Soul Blues R&B Hip Hop Awards

Join The Association
2009 JMA Gospel Awards
2009 Southern Soul Blues R&B Hip Hop Awards
JMAA Board Members
Contact Us
Sponsors Link
News and Gossip

Nomination Criteria – All nominees are to be representative of the relative category.  All nominations in national or local categories will have had significant airplay. National charts and sales is the major criteria for nomination. All national and local recordings released between August and June are eligible  All other nominees must have displayed outstanding performance in their area of expertise throughout the same timeframe. Exceptions and nominations can be made by the Selections Committee.

The 35th Annual Jackson Music Awards
R&B- Hip Hop Winners:
July 6th 2009
 Congratulations to all of the honorees and nominees, especially to the following 28 top award winners.

Background Vocalist of the Year, Tonya Youngblood
International Producer of the Year, Bruce Billups
Pop Group of the Year, Johnny Crocker
R&B Group of the Year, Recognition
Country Group of the Year, Owen Brothers
International Songwriter of the Year, Willie Clayton
Best Engineered Recording, Willie Clayton, Body Talk, engineered by Danny Leake
International Female Vocalist of the Year, Karen Wolfe
International Male Vocalist of the Year, Omar Cunningham
Poetry/Spoken Word-National, Kanika Welch
International CD of the Year, Fire, Lebrado
Local Blues Artist of the Year, Eddie Cotton
National Blues Artist of the Year, Lebrado
Best Recording by a Single Artist, The Beauty Shop, Omar Cunningham
The King Mose Memorial Award, Outlaw
Urban Disc Jockey of the Year, Alice Marie
Statewide Announcer of the Year, George Lee
Local Entertainer of the Year, Dexter Allen
Musician of the Year, Harrison Calloway
R&B Disc Jockey of the Year, Outlaw
Jazz Group of the Year, Russell Thomas Jr.
Local Female Vocalist of the Year, Beverly Ellis
Local Male Vocalist of the Year, Henry Rhodes
International Entertainer of the Year, Lebrado
Hip Hop Female Artist of the Year, Infinite
Hip Hop Male Artist of the Year, Smack A Batch
Hip Hop Group of the Year, Affiliated
Hip Hop Entertainer, Benz


Click To View Full Screen